Car Accident Lawyer Answers: Is Nebraska a No-Fault Insurance State?
August 30, 2019 • Car Accidents
One of the most common questions a Nebraska car accident lawyer answers has to do with “no-fault insurance.” Without a national guideline, it is up to each state to require a certain amount of Minimum Liability Coverage auto insurance, and it can be difficult for some people to learn the regulations. For those that move from state to state quite a bit, it is even more difficult.
Nebraska mandates that all drivers within a household have to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance with them in the vehicle at all times, no matter what. This means that if you are pulled over, in an accident, or require some other kind of police intervention, you will need to show proof of insurance.
As a general rule, anyone who is caught driving in Nebraska without valid proof of insurance will immediately have their license suspended without question. The penalty may seem harsh, but it is supposed to be a deterrent against driving without insurance coverage. While getting good insurance coverage may feel like spending a lot of money, it is actually saving you money in the event that you get into an auto accident. While hopefully, you will never have to use your auto insurance due to an accident, the likelihood of getting into a car accident in Nebraska is actually on the rise, so it is more important than ever to ensure that you are insured.
Nebraska Auto Insurance Minimum Liability Coverage
Once again, the laws and regulations around insurance coverage vary by state and each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. As of 2019, they are the following in Nebraska:
- Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
- Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
- Property Damage: $25,000
These are just the minimums. If you are a person who drives for a living, you may want to have more insurance coverage.
Nebraska Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage
There are some states that require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This insurance protects the driver of a vehicle in the case they are in an accident and the other person does not have adequate auto insurance or even have no auto insurance at all. This can be especially useful in instances where people are involved in auto accidents with people from other states.
Nebraska requires that everyone who has insurance carries a minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Once again, those who drive for a living may want to carry more.
However, in Nebraska, drivers are not required to carry no-fault insurance at all. In fact, Nebraska is known as a “Tort State” which means that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Moreso, the victim can pursue compensation for additional lost wages, pain and suffering, and more.
Need An Auto Accident Lawyer? Contact Matthew Miller Today
If you have sustained a serious injury as a result of an auto accident, it can be extremely life-altering, especially if you were injured by a car that did not have adequate auto insurance coverage or any insurance at all. Adding to the injury, you may be concerned over mounting medical bills and as a result, you may even neglect yourself because of costs you aren’t sure you can pay. With the costs of hospital visits, car repairs, and more on the rise, people are neglecting themselves and trying to heal without help, which can actually lead to additional, unnecessary pain and suffering in the future.
Even so, if you were injured in an accident, you do have a right to fight for the compensation that you deserve. If you are suffering after an accident, contact Matthew G Miller, an auto accident lawyer with experience, who can help to overcome your struggles and come away with the compensation you deserve and your peace of mind. Call us now at (402) 558-4900.